Judge Dredd

Tale of the Dead Man 7 episodes (Progs 662 to 668) 54 pages
Script: John Wagner, Artist: Will Simpson (1-4), Jeff Anderson (5-7)
Featuring: Kraken
Follows on from 'Dead Man' series. Dredd tests Kraken, declares him unfit to be a judge. Dredd takes the Long Walk into the Cursed Earth where he becomes the Dead Man
Timeline data: 2111
Rebellion: Judge Dredd The Complete Case Files 14
Hachette: Judge Dredd The Mega Collection The Dead Man
Titan: Judge Dredd Epics Necropolis Book 1
Fleetway: Judge Dredd Epics Tale of the Dead Man

Kraken, last of the Judda in Mega-City One, is failed by Dredd on his final assessment despite a flawless performance. Kraken is sentenced to be terminated, and administers his own lethal injection, which is in fact merely a powerful sedative.

After experiencing severe doubts about his role as a Judge, Dredd resigns and takes the Long Walk.